Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

One of the best books I have read this year is actually the worst. I accidentally found it while searching for another book and I decided to skim through it. I didn’t skim, I started reading. A terrible mistake which in hindsight I do not regret but in future, I might. I stopped reading after a few chapters, because it was getting late, my eyes insisted on being closed for sleep to arrive and I was sowing seeds in my mind I didn’t need. So I retired that night with a firm decision not to return.

I woke up with a hunger to finish what I started. I did finish the book, it gave me closure. So many unanswered questions would have haunted me if I hadn’t.

Faith No More by Phil Zuckerman talked about apostasy— why people reject religion. Which in the Christian parlance is referred to as backsliding.

 

 

Black And White Silhouette

Enlightened By TheIncurableOptimist

 

I love asking questions, I question so many things in the bible, and I believe knowledge comes from asking questions and from questioning answers. Invention arises when men look at already answered questions and probe the answers for loopholes. Humans by nature are inquisitive, we always want to know and that is one of the magical things that makes children adorable. It’s probably why we are less adorable as adult because we have learnt to accept things just as they are. The truth stares at us, slaps us in the cheek and we pretend it is not there.Religion unfortunately is giving rise to apostasy and atheism. People wake up, do an evaluation of their lives, and learn about history and are stunned by the atrocities done in the name of God. It’s even worse when they see these same atrocities happening around them, done by people who name the name of God.

 


“The belief in a supernatural source of evil is not necessary

Man alone is quite capable of all form of wickedness”

Joseph Conrad


 

 

Faith No More is not one of the best book I have read this year because it’s the most beautifully written. Nope. It is, because it turned out to be what I needed most at the time I read it. I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone because I might not read it again, but I would recommend it if you want to find out why some people lose faith in God. Why the number of irreligious people are growing. And why even among the religious, many are flirting with unbelief.

Phil Zuckerman narrowed his radar on Europe and the America but still most of the stories could be from anywhere in the world. And I would love to have a similar study in Nigeria, because I know even though we are seen as one of the most religious country in the world, if we do are detailed study about our faith, the result might just prove otherwise.

Even the Bible supports it; “They have a profession/likeness of faith but are not”

 

 

The modern world is faced with many issues today and religion especially Christianity (which is what I can relate to the most) is not being empathetic enough.

Modern Christianity is taking a not so noble path. We (Christians) are going a full cycle back to the dark ages where it was unquestionable to question the church. People are burnt at the stake of public opinion for opposing a popular belief. For asking questions. And just as it was in the dark ages, it is now.

 

Black and White Portrait of a boy and Signs

Signs and Symbols By TheIncurableOptimist

In the movie Concussion which is based on actual events of the Nigerian Doctor who found the relationship between football — the American one— and CTE (Chronic traumatic encephalopathy) — a fancy kinda brain disease. The research of Dr. Bennet Omalu was vehemently resisted because not only would it put a dent on the pocket of the NFL, it also didn’t come with a solution.

Dr. Omalu responded when he was slammed by a panel of experts by saying, “I just want them to know.”

Millennial Christians want to know so many things and that has been frowned at and considered an act of rebellion.

I believe it’s okay to doubt, doubt is essential for faith to be established. Faulting a person for doubting is just pushing him towards unbelief.

I do not believe everything I hear in church, I have a mental sensor that screens things. The Bible encourages me to test all spirits.

How can I test if I can’t question? If I can’t doubt?

How am I supposed to know a spirit is true if I am to swallow every word because it falls from a pulpit?

The Bible states explicitly that false prophets will arise with false doctrines. How can I tell the difference between false and authentic if I cannot censor?

Christianity is not only challenged to reach out to the lost, it also has to satisfy the hunger of those within. To entertain their questions because if the church refuses to, answers will be sort elsewhere.

It’s okay for a pastor to admit he is wrong and delegate issues to a more qualified professional. Not everything is spiritual. Mental illness, finances, career and so many others aren’t. These should be delegated to experts, people who know more. People who have spent years researching on these issues and can easily proffer a solution when the need arise.

Some problems are solved by sharing a life experience. I resonate more with people who have experienced similar things as I have, people who share similar questions. And in their questions and answers, I find mine. Saving the time I would have spent searching for answers.

Like Doctor Omalu, I just want people to know they can question. They are can search for answers without being bullied or blackmailed from doing so with scriptures. Because if there is no freedom to question, a time will come when our faith will be no more. And something else will rise for people to believe in. For humans must always believe in something. Even atheist believe, they believe there is no God and that itself is another exhibition of faith.

 


I write about the power of trying, because I want to be okay with failing. I write about generosity because I battle selfishness. I write about joy because I know sorrow. I write about faith because I almost lost mine, and I know what it is to be broken and in need of redemption. I write about gratitude because I am thankful – for all of it.

Kristin Armstrong


 

