Tags

, , , , ,

I did not fail the tingle
I had just finished the race
But I did not feel the thrill.
The exhilarating feelings that comes
with winning was alien.
I did not feel it
I did not feel like I worth it.

I did not feel the tingle
I had fought the good fight
But I did not feel the pleasure.
The moment remained stale despite my victory
The joys of not tasting defeat was bleak.
I did not feel it
I was not at all excited.

I did not feel the tingle
I had set a new record
But I did not feel the satisfaction.
The sense of pride that comes
with making history was absent.
I did not feel the accomplishment
I was numbed to everything.

I did not feel the tingle
I should be elated
But I did not feel amazed.
I had been named among the best
Pitched in the top echelon of successful maestros.
Yet I felt no sense of honor
I did not feel like I belong.

I did not feel the tingle
I am seen as successful
But my success feel stale.
I did not feel the butterflies
I am not excited by what I have achieved.
For deep down within I know
Not all success are worth calling success
For without integrity and honesty,
Honour is dishonored clothed in fake apparel.

image

Also posted at Www.poetry.wrr.ng

First published at
Www.poetry.wrr.ng
With the username @bekexjj

#AmAnIncurableOptimist

